Five photographers have been awarded photography bursaries from the National Media Museum. The five winners David Birkin, Jonathan Foulger, Tess Hurrell, Jo Longhurst and Indre Serpytyte were chosen out of 200 applications, the highest number reached in the Bursary’s history.

The bursary award will help each of the winners persue or complete projects on which they have been working and the panel of judges who included  Zelda Cheatle of WMG Photography and Simon Crocker, chairman of the John Kobal Foundation amongst others chose the winners from the applications remarked that the work reflected work at different stages of completion and at different stages of their careers.

The winners’ work will be exhibited at the James Hyman Gallery in London’s Savile Row between 07 January and 13 February.